Member Login  |   Join Us  |  Resources  |  FAQs  |  News  |  Events  |  Contact Us  

  Search for a Solicitor Advocate

Follow us   

About Us >> The Society  |   Membership  |   Resources  |   Members


Society  >>  History  |  Officers  |  Committee

The Society of Solicitor Advocates is run by a Committee, consisting of a President backed up by a Vice-President (Civil) and Vice President (Crime), a Secretary, a Treasurer and four other committee members, representing a variety of interests.

The Committee meets roughly every three months, to discuss and organise forthcoming events and the Society's response to any relevant consultations.

The meetings are open to all members and we are keen to involve solicitor advocates from as many areas of practice as possible. If you would like to get involved please contact our administrator -

The current committee is made up of:


John Scott QC
John Scott QC, Edinburgh

Vice-President (Criminal)

Ross Yuill
Carr & Co (Solicitors) Limited, Glasgow  

Vice-President (Civil)

Laura McMillan
Brodies LLP, Edinburgh

Committee Member

Simone Sweeney
Wheatley Housing Group Ltd, Glasgow

Committee Member

Gordon Martin
Martin, Johnston & Socha Limited, Dunfermline

Committee Member

Craig Connal QC
Pinsent Masons LLP, Glasgow


Fraser Tait
Tait Macleod, Falkirk   


Fiona Mundy
Johnson Legal, Edinburgh

Committee Member

Lesley Anderson
Lesley Anderson Law, Falkirk 

Committee Member

Ewen Roy
Adams Whyte, Edinburgh 

Committee Member

Jamie Reekie
Brodies LLP, Edinburgh

Committee Member

Victoria Ayre
Office of the Advocate General, Edinburgh

Committee Member

Lewis Richardson
BTO Solicitors LLP, Edinburgh